1 - Partie Vignoble

A rich soil and an intense land
dedicated to the vineyard

Discover
2 - Partie Vignoble

Traditional vinification
and ageing methods

Enter
Propriété Bourdieu

Welcome to Château Bourdieu

Discover
Boutique du château

Treat yourself
with our
wines

Store

Background

Château Bourdieu

The Château Bourdieu counts among the oldest vineyards in the Blaye region, where the first signs of vine crops have appeared under Roman domination, 50 years BC.
Built in 1464, the Château Bourdieu, situated on a promontory observing the medieval tradition of building the manor house on top of a hill, overlooks the vineyard.  Until the XVIIIth century, several Court Judges ruling in the region owned the estate. It’s from that time, that the wines produced on the property became a trade staple with America and with England.
Luc Schweitzer, the fifth generation of a particularly dynamic family of winegrowers, carries on the tradition and makes you discover his wines, matured with love, passion and time-honoured methods.
His two sons, Richard and Ludovic, are joining the management team, adding just the right amount of innovation and modernity to make the utmost of the outstanding territory.

Blaye, Côtes de Bordeaux

First Greek then Roman settlements, planted vines in the Blaye region, long before vines were planted in the Medoc region. As time went past, the vineyard came closer to the Blaye harbour, where it would be shipped away. In 1938, the first quality label: AOC (Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée) Premières Côtes de Blaye was created, setting quality requirements such as, yields control, grape varieties, natural alcoholic percentage, and so on. In 1980, the young winegrowers got together to create the Maison du Vin de Blaye. More information on : http://www.vin-blaye.com

To enhance the visibility of this wine, the ‘Premières Côtes de Blaye’ became in 2008 Blaye, Côtes de Bordeaux !

Growing vines

Close to the Gironde estuary, our vineyard is planted with the traditional red grape varieties typical of Bordeaux red wines, such as Merlot, Cabernet franc, Cabernet Sauvignon and Malbec and they create a subtle harmony growing on a mix of lime, clay, gravel and sandy soil. Our vineyard is tilled according to traditions and respect of the environment, as it is our livelihood. Our daily purpose is to maintain it at its best. All our efforts and thoughts concur to grow grapes of the best quality with the greatest respect for the environment. Our attention is centred on careful pruning, meticulous bud pruning and complete bunch thinning to emphasize the boon of the sun on the grapes. All these cares ensure the single goal of producing excellent qualityThe wine is the son of the sun and the earth. It is the sum of our focused know-how, which transforms the grapes into a perfect harvest, the all year through.

Winemaking

Traditional winemaking

Billions of small grape berries are selected, sorted and crushed, then put into fermentation vats, according to time-honoured methods. During the vintage stage, the must ferments from 6 to 8 days then it is left to macerate for about 5 weeks. The aim is to keep the juice, pips and pulp in contact for the longest time possible in order to get the best juice extraction which will give our wine its rich colour and its complex structure. Our cellar is entirely equipped with stainless steel vats fitted with thermal gauges in order to keep a close control on temperatures during the fermentation. We convey all our expertise and rigorous care to charm your taste buds with the natural quality of our wines.

Ageing

Following the 5 weeks maceration, some wines are stocked in new oak barrels carefully selected from our French supplier in order to age. Our wines age from 12 to 14 months like the world-famous prestigious Bordeaux wines.

Our Wines

Château Bourdieu N° 1

Château Bourdieu N°1 2010

The Château Bourdieu N°1 has a dark red colour with ruby-red highlights. Its nose is complex and intense with expressive red-berry fruit aromas such as black currant, blackberry and redberry as well as hints of toasty flavours. The initial impression on the palate is soft, rich and round with nice round tannins. The aftertaste features a fruity paroxysm.
The Château Bourdieu N°1 2010 is a truly well-balanced, elegant and luscious wine and is available to delight you by its aromatic generosity.

Food and Wine pairing : it will make a magnificent accompaniment with all varieties of roasted meats or meat stews and also cheeses.

It is presently drinkable and the ideal serving temperatures are between 16° to 18°.

Wine Awards:

Gold medal with the Gilbert & Gaillard Guide 2013

Grand prix d’Excellence in The Vinalies Nationales 2012 (oenologist tasters)

Château Bourdieu Tradition

Château Bourdieu 2012 Tradition

The Château Bourdieu traditionally made has a deep ruby-red colour. The complex bouquet features aromas of fruit that would tease your sensations. On the palate, the blend of red berries (blackcurrant and redberry) turns this wine into a pleasant, round and smooth drink.

Food and Wine pairing : it can be served as an aperitif and it will perfectly match grilled meats and salads. 

It is drinkable now and the ideal serving temperatures are between 16° to 18°.

Château Bourdieu aged in oak barrels

Château Bourdieu 2012 Elevé en Fût de Chêne

The Château Bourdieu aged in oak barrels has a brilliant deep red colour. The nose is powerful and fruity (blackcurrant and blackberry) with woody and grilled fragrances. Attractive and well-structured on the palate, a touch of vanilla adds to the elegant and somewhat smoky aromas.

Food and Wine pairing : it will perfectly match foie gras, game, fish, red meat and   strong cheese. 

It is presently drinkable and the ideal serving temperatures are between 16° to 18°.

It can call for further ageing until 2020.

Château Bourdieu BIB

Château Bourdieu BIB 2014

The Bag-In-Box from the Château Bourdieu is a dark brilliant crimson colour. It is powerful and full-bodied leaving an aftertaste of very pleasant spicy aromas that discloses its mellowness.

Food and Wine pairing : it can be served as an aperitif and it will pair fish, meats, foie gras, salads and an assortment of cheese.

Keep the BIB in the fridge and take it out half-an-hour before the meal.

Contact

Your name (required)

Your email (required)

Subject

Your message

1 - Partie Vignoble

Un terroir riche et intense
au service du vignoble

Découvrez
2 - Partie Vignoble

Vinification traditionnelle
et en élevage

En savoir plus
Propriété Bourdieu

Bienvenue au Château Bourdieu

Découvrez son histoire
Boutique du château

Venez vous faire plaisir
dans notre
boutique

Entrer

Histoire

Château Bourdieu

Le Château Bourdieu est une des plus anciennes propriétés vinicoles du Blayais, où sont apparues les premières cultures de vignes par les romains, soit 50 ans avant l’ère chrétienne. Bâti en 1464, le Château Bourdieu domine son vignoble, assis sur un promontoire comme l’étaient les grandes demeures au Moyen Age. Ce domaine a appartenu jusqu’au XVIIIème siècle à plusieurs Seigneurs hauts justiciers de la région. C’est à  partir de cette époque que nos vins devinrent monnaie d’échange avec l’Amérique, et les pays Anglo-Saxons. Luc Schweitzer, fier héritier d’une famille de vignerons de cinq générations, perpétue ce savoir-faire en vous faisant découvrir ses vins élaborés dans l’amour, la passion et le respect des traditions. Encouragé aujourd’hui par la future venue de ces deux fils, Richard et Ludovic, les prises d’initiatives dans la vie de l’entreprise évoluent et se développent à grands pas !

Blaye, Côtes de Bordeaux

Ce sont tout premièrement les Grecs, puis les Romains qui se sont installés dans la région du Blayais pour planter de la vigne, bien avant que dans le Médoc. Au fur et à mesure du temps, le vignoble de Blaye s’est regroupé et s’est concentré autour du port d’embarquement Blayais. En 1938 naît la première AOC (Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée) Premières Côtes de Blaye, dictée par un cahier des charges stipulant le rendement autorisé, l’encépagement, le degré alcoolique naturel du raisin, … A partir des années 1980, un regroupement de jeunes viticulteurs se forme pour créer la Maison du Vin de Blaye. Au vu d’un manque de lisibilité du grand publique, les Premières Côtes de Blaye deviennent en 2008 Blaye, Côtes de Bordeaux !

Vignoble

Situé à proximité de l’estuaire de la Gironde, notre vignoble composé des cépages de merlot, cabernet franc, cabernet sauvignon et Malbec, évolue avec harmonie sur des sols argilo-calcaire, graveleux ou sableux. Notre vignoble cultivé dans la tradition et le respect de la nature, il est notre outil de travail. Le préserver en est notre tâche quotidienne. Nous pensons et travaillons dans le respect de l’environnement pour obtenir des raisins de grande qualité. Toute notre attention se porte sur une taille raisonnée, suivie d’un ébourgeonnage sélectif, puis un effeuillage complet qui va favoriser l’ensoleillement des grappes. Et tout ceci dans un but précis; avoir une qualité d’excellence. Le vin est fils du soleil et de la terre. C’est tout notre savoir-faire qui transforme cette vigne avec beaucoup de soin tout au fil de l’année pour atteindre une vendange parfaite.

Vinification

Vinification traditionnelle

Ce sont des milliards de petites baies de raisin qui vont  être sélectionnées, triées, puis vinifiées, selon nos méthodes traditionnelles. C’est lors de la vinification où les moûts vont fermenter durant 6 à 8 jours et vont ensuite macérer environ 5 semaines. Le but étant de laisser le jus un maximum de temps au contact avec les pellicules et les pépins pour obtenir la plus belle extraction possible, qui par la suite donnera à notre vin sa couleur intense et sa grande structure élaboré. Le chai est entièrement équipé de cuves en inox thermo-régulées pour conduire rigoureusement la température lors de la fermentation. Nous apportons toute notre science, toute notre attention et notre plus grande rigueur pour charmer votre palais par la qualité et le naturel de nos vins.

Elevage

C’est à l’issue de cette vinification d’environ 5 semaines que certains de ces vins pourront  être élevés en fûts de chêne français neufs dont le choix reste primordial. Nous laissons vieillir nos vins 12 à 14 mois selon les méthodes des grands crus bordelais.

Nos vins

Château Bourdieu N° 1

Château Bourdieu N°1 2014

Ce Bourdieu N°1 vous offre au regard une belle robe, couleur grenat profond et des reflets rouges vifs. Son nez complexe et expressif est accompagné de merveilleuses notes toastés et de fruits, tels que le cassis, la mûre ou la groseille, … Sa bouche est structurée, étoffée et ample grâce à ses tanins soyeux et offre une finale concentrée sur le fruit.
Réunit de son élégance, son charme et son équilibre, ce Château Bourdieu N°1 2014 est prêt à vous séduire par sa générosité aromatique.

Accords Mets & Vins : Il vous sera particulièrement apprécié sur toutes les viandes rôties ou en sauces, ainsi que les fromages.
Prêt à boire dès à présent à 18°C.

Médaillé Or au concours de Mâcon 2015

Château Bourdieu Tradition

Château Bourdieu Tradition 2015

Le Château Bourdieu vinifié traditionnellement vous présente sa robe intense au regard et sa couleur rubis profond. Son nez reflète des saveurs fruitées qui exalteront vos sens. En bouche, c’est un mélange de fruits rouges, de cassis et de groseilles qui vous offre ce vin si agréable à boire, par sa rondeur, sa souplesse et son côté gouleyant.

Accords Mets & Vins : Il s’apprécie particulièrement en apéritif, ainsi qu’en accompagnement viandes grillées ou bien avec des salades.

Prêt à boire dès à présent à 16 – 18°C.

Château Bourdieu Elevé en Fût de Chêne

Château Bourdieu Cuvée des Grands Chênes 2015

Le Château Bourdieu Cuvée des Grands Chênes vous présente sa robe colorée et concentrée, laissant apparaître les senteurs boisées. Son nez est expressif grâce à son boisé grillé et torréfié et son fruité de cassis et de mûre. Sa bouche structurée et charpentée donne des saveurs vanillées, assez suaves et quelques peu fumées.

Accords Mets & Vins : Un mariage heureux avec foie gras mi- cuit, gibier, poisson (Lamproie à la bordelaise), viande rouge et fromages.

Prêt à boire dès à présent à 18°C.

Château Bourdieu BIB

Château Bourdieu BIB 2016 – 10L

Le Bag In Box du Château Bourdieu vous dévoile une robe somptueuse et éclatante. Un nez montrant du corps et de la force pour que vous ayez en bouche ce goût épicé, très agréable etses arômes qui vous révéleront tous les plaisirs d’un vin épanoui.

Accords Mets & Vins : En apéritif, pour accompagner des poissons, des viandes, sur du foie gras, des salades ou avec un plateau de fromages.

Conserver le Bib au réfrigérateur et le sortir une demi-heure avant le repas.

Contact

Votre nom (obligatoire)

Votre email (obligatoire)

Sujet

Votre message